Final Morocco Story and Photos

In trying to think up a summary for our Moroccan adventure, I became stuck.  Then I remembered a message I sent to my mom shortly after we returned.  I went to the Sent folder of my email account and I found the message.  I think it works perfectly:

Frankly, I don’t know how to describe our trip.  It was definitely a whirlwind adventure – I think there was only one day where we didn’t really travel.  We saw the ocean, lakes and rivers, and mountains – some covered with snow.  We saw wild monkeys, 100-metre waterfalls, snakecharmers, ancient-looking men in flowing white robes and wearing Adidas sneakers, and so much more.

We traveled on highways, mountain passes, and dirt roads.  We saw plenty of Mercedes and horse- or donkey-drawn carts (including some where there driver was chatting on his cell phone) and puny motorbikes seemingly from the 50s.

We saw women in modern dress or wearing headscarves and jeans or with the robe and scarf or even the full-body, face-covering abaya (?).

In the walled medinas we were passed by bikes, motorbikes, horse carts, and donkeys.

The meals were excellent – and filling – and they featured “Moroccan salads,” with little bowls of potatoes, lentils, beets, rice, carrots and I don’t know what else.  We had our fill of tajines, couscous, and brochettes.

I had a 24-hour bout of traveler’s sickness and D did the next day.  Nothing too serious.  M went through unscathed.

All in all, we had a fantastic time and we got to experience a culture so unlike our own.

Here’s a hodgepodge gallery of photos from all over Morocco.  Enjoy.

About skinsphins

The stories of a 'never out of the country until we moved to France' American.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment